Halloween Interlude – It Was All a Dream!

And then I woke up.

Still shaking, I went downstairs and poured myself a glass of water. Something normal. Something I could do to wipe everything that had just happened out of my head. This is my house. These are my hands. This is my refrigerator. This is a glass. This is water. Drink. It’s all like it should be. It’s all

blood

like it’s supposed to be.

There is nothing in the dark. Just dark.

I sat down at the computer to surf until I started to drift off. The wind was picking up outside and I thought I could hear a small rustling behind the wall by the baseboard. Mice. Again. Such is life.

I grabbed the flashlight and crouched down to shine it in the heating vent. If those things were chewing through the wall, I needed to get some traps out. Well, at least this was taking my mind off

fingernails

bad thoughts. I shone my light around inside the vent.

A face looked back.

And then I woke up.

Still shaking, I went downstairs and poured myself a glass of water. Something normal. Something I could do to wipe everything that had just happened out of my head. This is my house. These are my hands. This is my refrigerator. This is a glass. This is water. Drink. It’s all like it should be. It’s all

mice

like it’s supposed to be.

There is nothing in the dark. Just dark.

I sat down at the computer to surf until I started to drift off. The wind was picking up outside and I thought I could smell something across the room. Coming from behind the wall by the baseboard? Did something die in there? Well. Such is life.

I grabbed the flashlight and crouched down to shine it in the heating vent. If a little animal was slowly decomposing in there, I needed to get it out. Now. Well, at least this was taking my mind off

eyes

bad thoughts. I shone my light around inside the vent.

Something grabbed my flashlight.

And then I woke up.

Still shaking, I went downstairs and poured myself a glass of water. Something normal. Something I could do to wipe everything that had just happened out of my head. This is my house. These are my hands. This is my refrigerator. This is a glass. This is water. Drink. It’s all like it should be. It’s all

hands

like it’s supposed to be.

There is nothing in the dark. Just dark.

I sat down at the computer to surf until I started to drift off. The wind was picking up outside and I thought I saw something across the room. Looking out of the vent by the baseboard? What was that? Nothing to do but check it out. Such is life.

I grabbed the flashlight and crouched down to shine it in the heating vent. I thought I’d seen a . . . well, it looked like a body. Arms crossed over the chest. It was impossible but, well, at least this was taking my mind off

pulling

bad thoughts. I shone my light around inside the vent.

Fingers brushed the sides of my neck.

And then I woke up.

Still shaking, I went downstairs and poured myself a glass of water. Something normal. Something I could do to wipe everything that had just happened out of my head. This is my house. These are my hands. This is my refrigerator. This is a glass. This is water. Drink. It’s all like it should be. It’s all

wait

like it’s supposed to be.

There is nothing in the dark. Just dark.

I sat down at the computer to surf until I started to drift off. The wind was

STOP!

picking up outside and I thought I could taste

WAKING!

something on my lips. My tongue. Something dripping from the ceiling?

Did something die up there?

UP!

I grabbed the flashlight and pointed it up at the ceiling.A black stain was spread about three feet across right above my head.  Well, at least this was taking my mind off

KSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS –

bad thoughts. I shone my light at the black, greasy spot and it

dropped.

And then I woke up.

Still shaking, I went downstairs and poured myself a glass of water. Something was wrong. This house. These hands. This  refrigerator. This glass. This water.

Don’t drink.

It’s all wrong. It’s all

wrong

off somehow.

There is something in the dark. But, not this dark.

I looked. I opened my eyes and I looked.

I sat down at the computer to surf until I started to drift off. The wind was picking up outside and I thought I could smell something across the room. Coming from behind the wall by the baseboard? Did something die in there? Well. Such is life. 

I grabbed the flashlight and crouched down to shine it in the heating vent. If a little animal was slowly decomposing in there, I needed to get it out. Now. Well, at least this was taking my mind off bad thoughts. I shone my light around inside the vent.

And then I woke up.

It perched on my chest. Its long black fingers snaked into my nostrils, my ears, the corners on my eyes. It rocked slightly as the fingers sucked and pulled and caressed the insides of my mind. I tried to raise my hands against it, but they wouldn’t move. I could feel it taking. I could also feel it giving back in equal measure. It wanted what I had inside. But, it also wanted me to know what it knew. It wanted me to see. It was important that I see.

So I saw.

I saw the vast darkness beyond waking. I saw the beings of shadow that crouch just outside our range of vision. I saw the multi-winged angels that swooped above our heads by night, their tentacular arms and scythe-like nails whipping the air and cleaving the souls of those deemed unworthy of the light. I saw through the air, to the solid miasma of unbreathable vapors favored by the entities that stalked the corridors of nightmare and the avenues of dreaming. I saw Terror riding a skinless horse, its bleats heralding madness for those who heard its call. I saw millions of lost innocents, screaming for discovery and the passionless monstrosity that silenced them with a viscous shattering of bone and rending of flesh.

I saw.

It wanted me to see that I might understand. And, as I understood, I sank back into sleep.

Where the fear lived.

Where the unknown dwelt.

Where truth lay mercifully, mercifully hidden.

And then . . .

Categories: Halloween!, Horror | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Cowabloga

pizza ninjas and all the rest

Deep In Bear Country

A Berenstain Bearcast

Sonic More Music

A blog about Music....because really what else is there ?

