Halloween Interlude – Morning Run

It was brief, so I can’t be sure I really saw it. A face – a kid’s face? – looking out of the upper floor window of a bungalow. I ran by so quickly. Still.

Five o’clock is pretty early for a kid to be up. But maybe, I don’t know, maybe he couldn’t sleep. Or, she. They. Maybe they couldn’t sleep. Maybe they wake up every morning and just stare out the window. Maybe, they’re looking for me to run by.

No, wait, that freaks me out to think about.

Maybe, they wait for anything to happen. Something to keep them interested. It’s not a busy street.

Maybe it was a fluke?

It was a white face. I know that. The streetlights made it shine a sickly yellow, but it reflected them well enough that I know it was white. Whitish.

Also, it moved. He moved. They moved. The kid moved. It wasn’t an “it.”

It was a kid.

Or, it was small at least.

I run by the house – I run by a lot of houses in the morning – and I see this face in the window and it freaks me out. I don’t, like, scream or anything, but I can’t stop thinking about it. I can’t stop seeing it.

I keep expecting this weird feeling to fade.

What was it looking at? That’s all I want to know. What was it doing with its hands?

Oh, shit, it had hands.

I forgot about that.

It had hands and it was doing . . . something with them. Moving them. Waving? In front of its face?

Covering.

It was covering its face with its hands and doing a peek-a-boo motion with them.

Right.

How did I forget that?

I ran past and it peek-a-boo’d at me. Really quick. Hands-face-hands. Really quick. 1, 2, 3. Blink, blink, blink. Really quick.

It was sitting there with its face covered. Waiting for me to run by. Why would it do that?

Running. Face. Hands. Face.

No.

It didn’t cover its face. It just stared.

No.

It did cover its face. I never saw its face.

No, wait.

It – it covered its face once and once it –

I’ve seen it before.

No, once it covered its face. Once it didn’t cover its face. Once it peek-a-boo’d.

1

2

3

Blink, blink, blink

How many times did I run by?

1, 2, 3 –

Wait, once it waved. It did wave. 4

1, 2, 3, 4

Covered, uncovered, peek-a-boo, wave

Did it say something.

1, 2, 3, 4, 5

Covered, uncovered, peek-a-boo, wave . . . whisper?

Mouth?

5?

Or, yell.

6

Or hit the glass?

7

Did it crawl out? God, was it crawling out of the window?

8

Down the side of the house?

9

It was not unlike a child.

10

It moved wrong. Like it had too many legs. Or arms.

11

Too many mouths.

12

I can’t stop running.

13

I can’t stop running.

14

I can’t stop running.

Categories: Halloween!, Horror | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Halloween Interlude – Morning Run

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

It's Del Toro Time!

With Phil and Ollie!

Deep In Bear Country

A Berenstain Bearcast

Sonic More Music

A blog about Music....because really what else is there ?

Berenstain Bears Bibliography & Blog

A Complete List of the Berenstain Bears Book Collection - A Resource for Collectors and Parents (Books and Memorabilia)

